End of Week 9: Short week, but still saw a new low.

Since I moved cheat day to Sunday last week, I had a short week this week:  my peak day was on Monday morning, and cheat day was on peak+5 (rather than peak+7 the prior week).

Things I did last week:

  • Ate SCD, no cheating at all.  Calories between 1400 and 1500 most days.  Limited red wine, as we had PLENTY while my parents were in town the prior week!
  • Took PAGG, with Thursday off
  • On cheat day, I took PAGG and CQ, did some squats and wall pushups once during the day, drank a 1/2 grapefruit worth of fresh squeezed juice before big breakfast and big dinner.
  • Drank as much water as I could remember to each day, around 4 liters+
  • I set an interim goal of 174.8 pounds because 1) that was my pre-baby weight and is a huge mile marker for me, and 2) that is the point at which my BMI is no longer “obese” but is just “overweight.”  My ultimate goal is 145, though I will evaluate that as I get closer.  It has said 145 on my drivers license since I was 15, would be SO cool to have that not be a stretch of the truth anymore.

Accomplishments:

  • New low of 187.8 by day 64 on SCD – this is a drop of 0.2 pounds since prior week low and 15.6 pounds to date (of which 14.9 pounds were fat pounds lost)
  • Body fat down 0.7% for the week, and 3.9% since starting
  • Inches up a little, but down 10.25″ since starting (3″ on waist and 3.5″ on hips)

I am not concerned about the small weight loss last week – I am comparing an 8 day week to a 6 day week, and am sure I will see a larger number this week when I am back to a 7 day week.

I am planning to re-post some of my daily burn posts over here (the good ones, not the “I woke up today” ones).

I am a real believer in this program, and am seeing some people find my little blog in their travels.

It is not a piece of cake, you can’t cheat on the diet (except once a week) and you can’t game the system.  What is written in Tim’s book is the results of HIM gaming the system and what worked best for him.  You can’t make it up (drinking 4 liters of artificial sweetened stuff every day for example) and say “this diet doesn’t work.”  No artificial sweeteners.  The diet DOES work.  Re-read the SCD chapters.  Especially Slow-Carb II, and also go to Tim’s blog where he clarifies and corrects a few points.  Once you find that you can do the diet properly and you have a good baseline, THEN you can step up to Junior Hacker status and start playing around.  You can’t add your own stuff in the beginning and say it doesn’t work, because you are not following it carefully.

There.  Stepping off my soap box.  I wish you the best, and would love to hear your experiences also.

 

About Sue

I am a 41-year old mother of two boys, aged 2 and 5. I am a follower of Tim Ferriss' The Four Hour Body, and started on this adventure on January 1, 2011. My goals are to be a role model for my kids, showing them how to eat in a healthy way and stay active. I also want to undo the bait and switch I pulled on my husband - gaining a lot of weight after we were married and the kids were born.
This entry was posted in Progress Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to End of Week 9: Short week, but still saw a new low.

  1. ohomeschool says:

    Good for you, Sue. I’m glad to hear that you realize that comparing an 8-day week to a 6-day week is not apples to apples, so to speak. 😉

    And I like you conclusion about how people who don’t really do the diet as written are not in a position to say “the diet doesn’t work.” Good point.

    I’ve recommitted to strict adherence to the diet this week as well. Stopping the gaming. Eliminating the diet sodas and sweeteners. Etc.

    I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Keep up the strong work, Sue. I’m pulling for you! =)

Leave a comment